Message from the Director

 

The Peking University-Lincoln Institute Center for Urban Development and Land Policy (PLC) was established in 2007. It is a non-profit research and educational institution jointly sponsored by Peking University and the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy. The mission of the Center is to conduct high-quality, independent, empirical research on issues related to land, urban, and fiscal policies in China and further the understanding of land policy, property taxation, and urbanization in China and around the world.

Over the past five years, the Center has produced a number of outputs under the leadership of former director of the Center, Professor Joyce Yanyun Man, and in collaboration with a number of international and domestic experts, scholars, practitioners, and policy makers. These outputs include 12 published books, over 200 academic papers, scholarships to over 200 scholars, graduate students, and undergraduate students, 30 research seminars, and 12 training workshops.

Today, urbanization is a hot topic in China’s reform agenda. It touches upon a wide range of issues related to land, housing, fiscal policy, planning, investment and finance, environment, and regional development. As a platform to facilitate research, education, training, and idea exchange, the Center will build on the success of the past five years and continue to provide high-quality research and knowledge support to inform the policy reform process. We welcome individuals and agencies who share our mission to support and participate in the Center’s programs and activities.

 

Liu Zhi, Director
Peking University-Lincoln Institute Center for Urban Development and Land Policy

主任致辞

北京大学-林肯研究院城市发展与土地政策研究中心成立于2007年,是由北京大学与美国林肯土地政策研究院共同创建的一个非营利性质的学术研究机构。中心的宗旨是针对中国土地、城市及财政政策等领域,提供高质量的实证研究成果,以帮助加深认识中国以及世界范围内的土地政策、财产税与城市化相关问题。

在过去的五年中,在前任主任满燕云教授的带领下,北大-林肯中心与国内外专家、学者、政府官员通力合作,取得了一系列的成果,累计发表了学术专著12本和学术论文200余篇,支持了200人次的专家、学者、研究生和本科生开展研究工作,举行了30次学术研讨会,开办了12期培训班。

城镇化是中国当今的热门议题,涉及到土地、住房、财税、规划、投融资和区域发展等问题。北大-林肯中心作为一个集教育培训、政策研究、交流讨论为一体的综合性学术平台,将会努力进一步发挥作用,为围绕中国城镇化进程的体制改革和实践提供学术支撑,并诚挚欢迎社会各界支持与关注中心的工作。

 

刘志 主任

北京大学-林肯研究院城市发展与土地政策研究中心